Team nominations - Hertfordshire League and 4NCL

In the Hertfordshire League, where a number of Watford teams compete, all clubs are required to nominate players for particular teams.   This is to ensure that, for example, a club's champion player is eligible to play only for its first team and not its fourth team.

Watford team nominations for 2018-19 are as shown below. The main significance of the nominations is that individual club members are not permitted to play for a team lower than the team for which they are nominated.  Nominations affect only the Hertfordshire League and not other competitions.

Club members are likely to be invited, from time to time, to play for a team which is higher-rated than that for which they have been nominated.  However, once they have played for a higher-rated team or teams five times, they become ineligible for their nominated team - this happened three times last season.  

Hertfordshire League nominations (after mid-October revision) for 2018-9 are as follows:

Watford 1:   Chris Duncan, Venkataramanan Tiruchirapalli, Ed Holland, Andrew Stone (captain), Jerry Rudge. 

Watford 2:   Omowale Nelson. Roger Lancaster, Ernest Karumazondo (captain),  Mace Carnochan,  Neil Dunlop.

Watford 3:    Michael Luberto, Jeff Tomy, Darrell Pigott, Nick Papathanasopoulos, Paul Lttlefair, Cecil Sloan (captain).

All other club members are eligible to play for Watford 4 or one of the three higher-rated teams.  But members become ineligible for a team, once they have played 5 or more games for a higher-rated team or teams.   Watford 4 team captains (joint) are Geir-Erik Nielsen and Pete Edwards.

All club members graded (standard play, ECF August list) under 120 are also eligible to play for the Watford u-120 team irrespective of which of the four above-mentioned teams they may or may not have played for.   U-120 team captain is Sanjay Vig.

In 2017-18, Watford competed for the first time in the 4 Nations Chess League.   We entered a second team in 2018-19 and team managers (joint) Roger Lancaster and Sanjay Vig.

Juniors are eligible to play, and do play, in the above events.   However, exclusively junior teams also play in two events.

Watford junior teams (under age 18) compete in the Junior 4 Nations Chess League.   Team manager Roger Lancaster.

Watford also enters an under 160 team (standard play, ECF August list) in the Hertford & District League which gives playing opportunities to the club's stronger juniors - in this event, our juniors face adult opposition.    H&DL team captain is Christian Bland.